You Are Better
Than The Crimes
You Are Accused of!
By: Cowboy Country

Is Domestic Violence a Felony?

Latest News

What is Domestic Violence?

Domestic violence is a pattern of behavior in any intimate relationship that is used to gain or maintain power and control over the other person. It can include physical, sexual, emotional, economic, and psychological abuse.

Physical abuse is when you hurt someone physically. For example, you may hit them, kick them, or pull their hair. Sexual abuse is when you force someone to do something sexual that they don’t want to do. Emotional abuse is when you say mean things to someone or emotionally demean them. Economic abuse is when you try to control how someone spends their money.

Is Domestic Violence a Felony in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, domestic violence is a felony if it results in serious bodily injury. Serious bodily injury means that the person has a substantial risk of death, or the injuries caused are so severe that they are likely to result in permanent disfigurement, protracted impairment of health, or death.

If you’re convicted of domestic violence as a felony, you could face up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. First-time offenders may be eligible for a deferred sentence, which means that you would not have to serve time in prison as long as you complete a treatment program and comply with other conditions.

However, many defenses may be available to you. It’s important to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side who can help you fight these charges.

What Penalties Can I Receive for a Conviction?

If you’re convicted of domestic violence as a misdemeanor, you could face up to one year in jail and a $1,000 fine based on what kind of assault you are charged with. First-time offenders may be offered a deferred sentence, which means that they will not have to go to jail as long as they complete a rehabilitation program and follow other obligations. If you have multiple convictions for domestic violence, you could face up to six years in prison and a $6,000 fine.

It’s important to remember that the penalties for domestic violence convictions can vary depending on the facts of your case. That is why having the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney who can assist you in understanding and fighting for the greatest possible outcome in your case is so crucial.

Should I Hire a Domestic Violence Attorney?

Being charged with domestic violence can be a scary and confusing experience. You may be wondering if you need to hire a domestic violence attorney. The answer to that question depends on a variety of factors, such as the severity of the charges against you, your relationship with the accuser, and whether you have prior convictions for domestic violence.

If you are facing domestic violence charges, it is important to consult with an experienced attorney who can advise you of your rights and help you build a defense. If you have been convicted of domestic violence in the past, it is especially important to seek legal counsel. A skilled domestic violence attorney can work to get your conviction expunged or reduced. Call our criminal defense law firm today at 307-333-7884 for a free consultation.