Wyoming Domestic Violence Laws
Domestic violence occurs when a household member attempts to cause or causes bodily injury to another household member.
Most of the time, domestic violence charges are a form of misdemeanor simple assault and battery. However, more serious situations, such as those involving weapons or strangulation, can be charged as felonies.
In Wyoming, a household member includes:
- Current and former spouses,
- Individuals who currently or previously lived together in a romantic relationship,
- Adults sharing living quarters,
- Parents and their adult children,
- Individuals who previously dated or are currently dating, and
- Individuals who have a child together.
If you face domestic violence charges in Wyoming, you should contact a Wyoming domestic violence defense attorney today.
Laws and Penalties
Common Wyoming domestic violence laws include domestic assault, domestic battery, and strangulation of a household member.
Wyoming law defines domestic assault as when a household member unlawfully attempts to cause bodily injury to another household member.
A first-time domestic assault offense carries a punishment of up to six months in jail and/or up to a $750 fine. The punishment increases to a maximum of one year in jail and/or a $750 fine if the offender has previously been convicted of domestic assault or has been convicted of any of the following crimes:
- Domestic battery,
- Simple assault,
- Child abuse,
- Strangulation of a household member,
- Aggravated assault and battery,
- Reckless endangerment,
- Unlawful contact,
- Felonious restraint, or
- False imprisonment.
A court can also impose a sentence of up to three years of probation in addition to jail time and fines.
In Wyoming, domestic battery occurs when a household member knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another household member by use of physical force.
A first-time domestic battery offense carries a punishment of up to six months in jail and/or up to a $750 fine.
However, the punishment increases to a maximum of one year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine if the offender has previously been convicted of domestic battery or any of the other crimes listed above within the past five years.
Additionally, if the offender has been convicted of domestic battery two or more times within the past 10 years, or domestic battery and any of the other crimes listed above, the punishment increases to a maximum of 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Strangulation of a Household Member
Wyoming law defines strangulation of a household member as intentionally and knowingly or recklessly causing or attempting to cause bodily injury to another household member by impeding their breathing or blood circulation through:
- Applying pressure on the household member’s throat or neck, or
- Blocking the household member’s nose and mouth.
Strangulation of a household member is a felony and carries a punishment of up to 10 years in prison.
How a Wyoming Domestic Violence Defense Attorney Can Help You
If you face domestic violence charges in Wyoming, hiring a domestic violence defense attorney gives you the best chance at reducing or eliminating your charges.
Jeremy Hugus and our team at Cowboy Country Criminal Defense understand the seriousness of a domestic violence accusation. We will keep you informed throughout the criminal defense process and aggressively fight to get you the best possible result. Contact us today to schedule your free consultation.